Magnetism

 

Picking up where I left off last time, “every effect has a cause” Drummond brings us to the words of the Apostle John who refers to himself at times as the one whom Jesus loved. “In his first letter you will find these words: ‘We love, because He first loved us.’We love,’ not ‘We love Him.’ That is the way the old version has it, and it is quite wrong. ‘We love – because He first loved us.’ Look at the word ‘because.’ It is the cause of which I have spoken. ‘Because He first loved us,’ the effect follows that we love,  we love Him, we love everybody. Our heart is slowly changed. Contemplate the love of Christ, and you will love. Stand before that mirror, reflect Christ’s character, and you will be changed into the same image from tenderness to tenderness. There is no other way. You cannot love to order. You can only look at the lovely object, and fall in love with it, and grown into likeness to it. And so look at the Perfect Character, the Perfect Life. Look at the great Sacrifice as He laid down Himself, all through life, and upon the Cross of Calvrary; and you must love Him. And loving Him, you must become like Him. Love begets love. It is a process of induction. Put a piece of iron in the presence of a magnetised body and that piece of iron for a time becomes magnetised. It is changed with an attractive force in the mere presence of the original force, and as long as you leave the two side by side, they are both magnets alike. Remain side by side with Him who loved us, and gave Himself for us, and you too will become a centre of power, a permanently attractive force; and like Him you will draw all men unto you, like Him you will be drawn unto all men.   That is the inevitable effect of Love. Any man who fulfills that cause must have that effect produced in him. Try to give up the idea that religion comes to us by chance, or by mystery, or by caprice. It comes to us by natural law, or by supernatural law, for all law is Divine.”

In one of his other addresses Drummond talks more at length about the Cause and Effect principle and under-girds it with the fact that our world is methodical not accidental.  There are all kinds of belief and acceptance of certain things going on here. What we believe about human beings for instance is tied up in all this and I am not looking for an argument but I certainly welcome discussion and others’ points of view.

Let me just reflect on this cause – we love because He first loved us. This lead me to think about how a parent loves or fails love their own child. When a child is loved and accepted just because “this child is a precious human being” and the parent is able to communicate it in such a way that this child knows my Mummy loves me which translates into “I am lovable.” Is that not the embodiment of what Drummond is saying? I believe that children naturally want and need to be loved but that they can not practice a type of self-love in order to get the love tank filled. Love is not stagnant. It is birthed in relationship. Our primary relationships i.e. with our parents is where we either get filled or we run at a deficit which impacts us for our whole life.

We all want something that is going to last. Something enduring. Drummond is going to conclude that the one thing, the greatest thing in the world is love. He writes: “Love must last.” I believe every person deep down wants something eternal. My love for my family, my friends, and my community is broken, often fragmented that is why I need to stick close some might say “abide” with the Source of Love. It is a mystery. However, Drummond has given me some clues – there is a record of a life lived, the One who loved perfectly, and his friend John wrote that if everything He did in his short life on earth had been written down the whole world could not hold that many books. Drummond writes,

“Love must last. God, the Eternal God, is Love. Cover therefore that everlasting gift, that one thing which it is certain is going to stand, that one coinage which will be current in the Universe when all other coinages of all the nations of the world shall be useless and unhonoured. You will give yourselves to many things, give yourselves first to Love.”

 

Published by: Catherine Mullaney

First and foremost, I am a child of the Living God who is found as One God in Three persons, The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit. I have been married to the same man for over 25 years, together we have three adult children. I love my family and God’s and I know that both are trying to love me. Over my lifetime, I hope that I have also been a good friend, faithful citizen of the Kingdom, thoughtful, kind, open, and that I will continue to do so by God’s grace. If you were to look at my weekly calendar, you might describe my life as diverse so no one can stick me in the Christian box or the recovery box or any box for that matter. People don’t belong in boxes anyway. I am grateful to be human. I enjoy living in New England. I love a great game of golf, catching a sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean, a good book, to write with pen and paper, fruitful conversations, to sing and dance, to walk. One of my signatures in this life is my laugh and I love to “sign.”

Categories The Power of LoveTags, , , , 1 Comment

One thought on “Magnetism”

Leave a Reply

