Deficiency of Love

I’ve got stuff to say about this song but for now, I am just putting it out there for a February posting. I will comment later.

Amateur Lovers by Jon Forman
Lyrics:

Everyone I know
Needs love like drugs
Like a common cold
We could never shrug

My baby and me
We’re missing the same stuff
We’ve all got a disease
Deficiency of love

Every day we still try
Every night we still cry
Driving home on the 805

We don’t know what we’re doing
We do it again
We’re just amateur lovers
With amateur friends

I can tell you what you’re thinking now
Before you think that you can settle down

We don’t know what we’re doing
Let’s do it again

You tried to play it down
But it never stuck
I tried to build this town
I’m getting no such luck
When nobody’s around
I keep my eyes on the clock
There ain’t a cure I’ve found
In all my times around this block

Everyday we still try
Every night we still cry
Driving home on the 405

We don’t know what we’re doing
We do it again
We’re just amateur lovers
With amateur friends

I can tell you what you’re thinking now
Before you think that you can settle down
We don’t know what we’re doing
Let’s do it again

We don’t know what we’re doing
Let’s do it again
We’re just amateur lovers
With amateur friends

I can tell you what you’re thinking now
Before you think that you can settle down
Our lovin’ isn’t gonna burn us out

We don’t know what we’re doing
Let’s do it again

Professional

 

Behind the Song:
‘Oh that we knew how to love each other well! Here’s a song that elaborates on the title track with another set of social-physics questions. We all need love so badly- it’s how we were made. And yet we’re so bad at loving one another. It’s our attempt to put another matter of grave consequence in the skin of a pop tune.’ – Jon Foreman (Switchfoot)

Published by: Catherine Mullaney

First and foremost, I am a child of the Living God who is found as One God in Three persons, The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit. I have been married to the same man for over 25 years, together we have three adult children. I love my family and God’s and I know that both are trying to love me. Over my lifetime, I hope that I have also been a good friend, faithful citizen of the Kingdom, thoughtful, kind, open, and that I will continue to do so by God’s grace. If you were to look at my weekly calendar, you might describe my life as diverse so no one can stick me in the Christian box or the recovery box or any box for that matter. People don’t belong in boxes anyway. I am grateful to be human. I enjoy living in New England. I love a great game of golf, catching a sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean, a good book, to write with pen and paper, fruitful conversations, to sing and dance, to walk. One of my signatures in this life is my laugh and I love to “sign.”

Categories The Power of Love, UncategorizedTags, , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

