Written on your heart

Since my awakening to new life, I have always wanted the real thing. Don’t play games with me when it comes to living and enjoying life. Don’t pretend to be someone you are not. I don’t have time for that because I really want to live. It has been an adventure finding out who I am and what I want in this life.
I think a good majority of the people in this world want to know who they are and fulfill their purpose in this world. Identity is probably trending. Perhaps it is not in the top 10 of twitter this week but looking at our society as a whole, I would venture a guess that it is trending across most developed countries. Answering the question Who am I? and What is my purpose in life? can all boils down to our identity. The Oxford English Dictionary defines it as “The fact of being who or what a person or thing is:”
We are all complex as far as human beings go. Even gender is no longer this or that. As a friend of mine said to me today, “We want to simplify things that really can not be simplified.” There is so much mystery involved in us, as individuals, who belong to people groups, families, a circle of friends, co-workers or colleagues, etc. We can go on and on. So where do we begin?
“What is the foundation of my identity?” I think answering this question is a good place to start. Some might ask the question another way, “Who am I at the core?” All the other parts of me are built from the inside out.
I believe that I am an image bearer, that I was made in the image of my Creator. So part of my discovering my own identity is to find out who my Creator is and for me it is the God of the Universe, the One True God, who makes himself know in three persons, that in and of itself is a profound mystery. However, there is a Sacred Text that has been preserved for thousands of years. There have been many attempts to destroy the best selling book of all times, the Bible. Is it just by chance that those looking to wipe it from the face of the earth have been unsuccessful? This Word gives us only a glimpse of who God is. In fact the book itself says during our lifetime we will only “see in part.”
I believe that we can learn a lot about the Creator through His Book but not without the power of His Spirit. The first thing the Word says about God is that He is a Creator, a Maker. He makes things! We all like to make things. Some of us make music, some draw and paint, some build, some design, some sew, some are storyteller whether that be through acting, dancing, singing, orating or writing, some make love, some heal and restore, etc. I think that if you have read this far through the post all would agree that we are makers.
One of the greatest composers of all times did not consider himself a maker but a discoverer. According to Dr. Chazelle, Bach considered himself a discoverer of music not a maker. In a recent interview with Krista Tippett he said, “that Bach saw himself like Newton, not as the maker of a craft, but as a discoverer of the laws of the musical universe, of aesthetics. And so, for him, it was a way, you know, every piece he wrote, Bach, he signed as SDG, Soli Deo Gloria. You know, to the glory of God, alone. That’s what it means. To the glory of God alone. The key word is alone. Because it’s not to the glory of God and me, the composer.” Most of us would call him a music maker, an extraordinary one at that. I think we can still take credit for being a maker and still give Glory to God.
Often we question someone who has made something, “How did you come up with that idea?” or “Who inspired you?” Quite often the sparks fly when something in creation catches our attention or we have a great conversation with a friend or we are persuaded by a speech, but often we can trace this back to the One who has given us the capacity to create, we are just not keen on giving God credit.
It has been almost 30 years since I received this new life and I don’t think I can sum up who I am in a closing paragraph, however, I will say that I am my Beloved’s and He is mine. He created me to reflect Him. I love him and I love the fact that He calls Himself the Word because I love words. Words are the inks we use to write upon one another’s hearts making beautiful devotions to each other.

My imagination needs cleansing. Here is a song to express that.

spotify:track:1ZAtXSNssJCCdmoGaJll8c

Published by: Catherine Mullaney

First and foremost, I am a child of the Living God who is found as One God in Three persons, The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit. I have been married to the same man for over 25 years, together we have three adult children. I love my family and God’s and I know that both are trying to love me. Over my lifetime, I hope that I have also been a good friend, faithful citizen of the Kingdom, thoughtful, kind, open, and that I will continue to do so by God’s grace. If you were to look at my weekly calendar, you might describe my life as diverse so no one can stick me in the Christian box or the recovery box or any box for that matter. People don’t belong in boxes anyway. I am grateful to be human. I enjoy living in New England. I love a great game of golf, catching a sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean, a good book, to write with pen and paper, fruitful conversations, to sing and dance, to walk. One of my signatures in this life is my laugh and I love to “sign.”

Categories The Power of Love, UncategorizedTags, , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

