Me and my place in this online world

Recently, I updated my “about” profile here. As I stated there, like most people I can’t be put into a box. I am a human being with all the complexities that come with being a member of the human race. I am a woman, who was once a girl. I am a wife who became a mother. Together with my husband we raised our children, two girls and a boy, who are now adults. For over twenty years I was an educator. Life is always changing. I would say that I am growing into this new season of life slowly and generally, I’ve not been one to do things at a rate that could be described as “slow.” I am finding out that is not a bad thing. To live life intentionally is a good thing. My transition from family life to being a couple again has not been seamless, if anything, I have grieved over what I would call an enjoyable adventure of raising our beautiful children. This has not be a lose of identity but the ending of Volume II of my life. It is okay to grieve over something that was so satisfying. Honestly, 2014 was full of hope and new beginnings. I am anticipating more changes and opportunities this year.

My reasons for joining Blogging 101 on WordPress at The Daily Post are to be more consistent in my writing on a regular basis and to get the most our of my WordPress site. I’ve been blogging for a long time but my posting is intermittent. Originally, I started blogging because my husband became a travel nurse and we journeyed with him for five years averaging 3 moves a year. We wanted the people back home to be able to keep up with our adventures. I kept writing because I love to write. My hope in being here is that I be able to really prime the pump in the next four weeks so that I can set aside dedicated time to write each day. I’ve come up with all kinds of plans on my own but I have failed to execute any of them. I was originally introduced to WordPress through friends who asked me to join them in building a site together. My job was content manager. The project was brought to a halt and never launched. During that time I started digging around the site. I started to figure some things out and utilizing and discovering features on WordPress. It all came to a screeching halt. Even though I have my site here, I don’t know even half of what is available to me.  I would like to develop a greater commitment to my own blogging.

My first blog I was simply showing up in cyberspace in order to stay connected to those “back home.” The landscape of the developed countries of this world now includes being “online.” My desire is to have a home here and I’ve chosen to live in the Region of WordPress. Perhaps some day I will choose to make my blog a complete site but for now I am content to just keep blogging. I would love to have an exchange of encouragement and feedback in order to improve my writing, traffic, and use of my site, Disarmed by Love.

Published by: Catherine Mullaney

First and foremost, I am a child of the Living God who is found as One God in Three persons, The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit. I have been married to the same man for over 25 years, together we have three adult children. I love my family and God’s and I know that both are trying to love me. Over my lifetime, I hope that I have also been a good friend, faithful citizen of the Kingdom, thoughtful, kind, open, and that I will continue to do so by God’s grace. If you were to look at my weekly calendar, you might describe my life as diverse so no one can stick me in the Christian box or the recovery box or any box for that matter. People don’t belong in boxes anyway. I am grateful to be human. I enjoy living in New England. I love a great game of golf, catching a sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean, a good book, to write with pen and paper, fruitful conversations, to sing and dance, to walk. One of my signatures in this life is my laugh and I love to “sign.”

Categories The Power of Love, UncategorizedTags, , , , 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Me and my place in this online world”

Leave a Reply

