Nature Boy

“The greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return”

The first Christmas Album that I put into the CD player in my vehicle this year was Harry Connick Jr’s Harry for the Holidays. I have no idea how long I’ve owned this CD 10 years maybe. Every year I start listening in October and a song on this album caught my attention like I was hearing it for the first time. The song is “Nature Boy” first recorded by Nat King Cole in 1947.

The line above, “The greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return,” however I believe that we first need to know that we are loved and that process ideally begins when we are infants, toddlers, children unable to fend for ourselves, just as we need food, shelter, clothing, and sunshine, we need to be loved. This is outside of our control.

Last week I wrote about forgiveness (I did not publish) which I believe is a way of loving, especially if the one who has offended you does not even know that they have hurt you. Don’t take offense because Jesus has taken it on – it is covered in His blood and I am free to forgive. All of my sins past, present, and future were paid for at the cross.

I heard a brother say once in facing his own mortality that he had to get right with His Maker. This is a brother in Christ who is not assured of this total forgiveness. This is where some of the mystery of the Gospel comes in – if you are in Christ you are already dead and your life is hidden in Christ.

“So you also must consider yourselves dead to sin and alive to God in Christ Jesus.” (Romans 6:11 ESV)

“For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.” (Colossians 3:3 ESV)

I would contend that dead people can’t do much of anything. The dead can not do any living. Paul also says in the book of Galatians that he has been crucified with Christ and is no longer living but Christ is now living in him. The life he lives, he lives by faith in the Son of God. So, we who are living as Christ’s followers, we are called to live the life of loving. Learning to love is and will be a life long process for me. The first 20 years of my life I did not do a very good job at living or loving, I might even want to say that I was pretty much dead in the love department and “to love is to live” as my friend Drummond says as I quoted in my last post.

Back to Harry and his cover of Nature Boy. The music is haunting.   

   I must have listened to it over and over again because for all the years before it was just back ground music. There are many things in life that are just there waiting for the right moment to be noticed. If it is a child, do not delay in taking notice of him or her because they will not stay that way for very long, especially if the child is your own. A child can’t wait to be loved and certainly children were not meant to be seen but not heard.

To know that we are loved is the key to loving ourselves and in turn being able to love others well.

Published by: Catherine Mullaney

First and foremost, I am a child of the Living God who is found as One God in Three persons, The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit. I have been married to the same man for over 25 years, together we have three adult children. I love my family and God’s and I know that both are trying to love me. Over my lifetime, I hope that I have also been a good friend, faithful citizen of the Kingdom, thoughtful, kind, open, and that I will continue to do so by God’s grace. If you were to look at my weekly calendar, you might describe my life as diverse so no one can stick me in the Christian box or the recovery box or any box for that matter. People don’t belong in boxes anyway. I am grateful to be human. I enjoy living in New England. I love a great game of golf, catching a sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean, a good book, to write with pen and paper, fruitful conversations, to sing and dance, to walk. One of my signatures in this life is my laugh and I love to “sign.”

Categories The Power of Love, UncategorizedTags, , , , , , 1 Comment

One thought on “Nature Boy”

Leave a Reply

