Anonymity

Tradition 11 states: “Our public relations policy is based on attraction rather than promotion; we maintain personal anonymity at the level of press, radio, T.V. and films.”
Recently, some of my fellow travelers and I had a good conversation around the topic of anonymity and the internet, specifically, Facebook. The traditions from 12 step programs were written before the world wide web was launched. This is still a gray area. And when it comes to places like social networking, some people are all out there, some creep, lots of us are in between and others just avoid it all together.
My last post I obviously or not so obviously, broke my own anonymity. For nearly 30 years I have been involved with 12 step fellowships. I hesitate to even write that since I am not a fan of labels. If you must categorize me, let me be a Narnian, daughter of Eve (fantasy land of CS Lewis). Lewis said, “I am a soul, I have a body.” I am a pilgrim journeying from this life into the next. I am not looking to promote any of the 12 step fellowships but I have decided to share some of my experience here on my blog. I will safeguard the anonymity of my fellow travelers by calling them my fellow travelers.
Since, I have been experiencing a disarming love in the fellowship of ACA, I decided sharing some of that was appropriate since it is having a great influence on my pilgrimage.

Published by: Catherine Mullaney

First and foremost, I am a child of the Living God who is found as One God in Three persons, The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit. I have been married to the same man for over 25 years, together we have three adult children. I love my family and God’s and I know that both are trying to love me. Over my lifetime, I hope that I have also been a good friend, faithful citizen of the Kingdom, thoughtful, kind, open, and that I will continue to do so by God’s grace. If you were to look at my weekly calendar, you might describe my life as diverse so no one can stick me in the Christian box or the recovery box or any box for that matter. People don’t belong in boxes anyway. I am grateful to be human. I enjoy living in New England. I love a great game of golf, catching a sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean, a good book, to write with pen and paper, fruitful conversations, to sing and dance, to walk. One of my signatures in this life is my laugh and I love to “sign.”

Categories The Power of Love, UncategorizedTags, , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

