Cultivating Gratitude

Recently on Facebook my cousin Tess invited me to list 3 good things for 5 days and nominate 3 people to do the same each day. I was happy to accept said challenge. As I noted on day 5 that my lessons on cultivating gratitude in my life started with instruction from my friend Kathleen. I was just 19 years old and I had no idea what it meant to be grateful. The feelings that started to well up in me once I began to put pen to paper each day simply listing what or who I was grateful for were foreign to me. It was like being in warm sunlight. So, I just kept doing it for a good 2 years and I hardly ever missed a day. Gratitude lists continue to be something I have practiced throughout the years.
Today is the first day of entering my 30th year of sobriety.
So without further a do. Here is my list:
Today I am grateful
1. That I woke up
2. I have breath
3. I am learning to breathe throughout my day
4. I am sober
5. for the most part I am in my right mind
6. for the Love of God
7. for the love of family and friends
8. for saying no without feeling guilty
9. for Dan, my husband of 25+ years
10. for my son, Michael
11. for my ACA sponsor/fellow traveler
12. for my daughters, Grace & Katie
12. for my son-in-law, Austin
13. for my extended families, The Mullaneys & the MacDonalds
14. for the Body of Christ
15. for my brothers and sisters in Christ, too many to list but starting with those from Evangelical Free Church in Easton, MA (the first church I was a member of in 1987-1992) to Emmaus City Church here in Worcester, MA now and all who have walked the Pilgrim Highway with us throughout the years.
16. for the trials that the LORD has seen me through
17. for trusted friends
18. for Kathleen
19. for the ability to think
20. being able to read and write
21. books
22. the ocean
23. the beautiful day
24. food
25. clothing
26. The Word of God
27. The Holy Spirit
28. Little ones
29. our home
30. a willingness to be in the stream of life
Ann Voskamp wrote a book called 1000 gifts and it felt so natural to list 30 in no time that I felt like I could make it to 1000, but I am going to stop at 30 today.
Making a list of things that I am grateful for is just one way to cultivate gratitude. It has proven I want to welcome my readers to share a small list of what you are grateful for today in the comment section.
Thanks for reading.

Published by: Catherine Mullaney

First and foremost, I am a child of the Living God who is found as One God in Three persons, The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit. I have been married to the same man for over 25 years, together we have three adult children. I love my family and God’s and I know that both are trying to love me. Over my lifetime, I hope that I have also been a good friend, faithful citizen of the Kingdom, thoughtful, kind, open, and that I will continue to do so by God’s grace. If you were to look at my weekly calendar, you might describe my life as diverse so no one can stick me in the Christian box or the recovery box or any box for that matter. People don’t belong in boxes anyway. I am grateful to be human. I enjoy living in New England. I love a great game of golf, catching a sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean, a good book, to write with pen and paper, fruitful conversations, to sing and dance, to walk. One of my signatures in this life is my laugh and I love to “sign.”

Categories The Power of Love, Uncategorized2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Cultivating Gratitude”

  1. I, too, am so thankful for your kids and your family! You have challenged me in my faith and encouraged me in my weakness, and I am so grateful for your influence. Actually, I just discovered my gratitude journal when cleaning yesterday! Inspired to restart.

Leave a Reply

