Never Stopping, Never Giving Up, Unbreaking, Always and Forever . . .

. . .LOVE. That is the way Sally Lloyd-Jones describes God’s love in her book, The Jesus Storybook Bible. Theologians have used the text to consult during sermon prep and have quoted from her book. In the vain of C.S.Lewis, I agree “No book is really worth reading at the age of ten which is not equally – and often far more – worth reading at the age of fifty and beyond.” I have found that so true in reading this Kids’ Bible. It encourages me to remember to be childlike when it comes to trusting my Heavenly Father.
Last week I had the privilege in opening up the Word in my home with a group of friends, all at different places in their pilgrim journey. And I opened by reading the opening in the Jesus Storybook Bible. God’s Love for us was my main focus. There is much to choose from so I was asking God for wisdom and doing my best to be led by the Holy Spirit. Originally, I thought I will start with one of my family’s old favorites The Greatest Thing in the World by Henry Drummond. It was published in late in the 19th century and based upon an address he had given here in the States in 1887. It is a wonderful powerfully packed little book on 1Corinthians 13. However, it was clear after listening to a Sally Lloyd-Jones interview that is the direction in which I was to go.
From the introduction:
“God wrote, “I love you” – he wrote it in the sky, and on the earth, and under the sea. He wrote his message everywhere! … And God put it into words, too, and wrote it in a book called “the Bible.” … the Bible isn’t a book of rules, or a book of heroes. The Bible is most of all a Story. It’s an adventure story…It’s a love story….
You see no matter what, in spite of everything, God would love his children – with a Never Stopping, Never Giving Up, Unbreaking, Always and Forever Love. And though they would forget him, and run from him, deep in their hearts, God’s children would miss him always, and long for him – lost children yearning for their home.”

Really, we could have stop right there and meditated upon it together.

There is no love quite like the Love of God. The power of His Love is like no other. We had a wonderful conversation about God’s love which is poured out by His scandalous grace. Without giving much more of an introduction, I thought that I would share some of my Notes and Scriptures here on my blog.

God’s One Way Love for us

Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good;
for his steadfast love endures forever!
Psalm 118:1
The LORD your God is in your midst,
a mighty one who will save;
he will rejoice over you with gladness;
he will quiet you by his love;
he will exult over you with loud singing.
Zephaniah 3:17

[6] For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. [7] For one will scarcely die for a righteous person—though perhaps for a good person one would dare even to die—[8] but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
Romans 5:6-8
[35] Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword?
[36] As it is written,

“For your sake we are being killed all the day long;
we are regarded as sheep to be slaughtered.”

[37] No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. [38] For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, [39] nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.
Romans 8:35-39

[9] In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him.[10] In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.
1 John 4: 9&10

[17] By this is love perfected with us, so that we may have confidence for the day of judgment, because as he is so also are we in this world. [18] There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love. [19] We love because he first loved us.
1 John 4:17-19

As a person who was new in recovery (1985), I had tried God and found Him wanting. I believe that my picture of God was distorted because of my upbringing. But I was desperate so I became willing to believe in a power greater than myself. It was not that I lacked imagination but I chose to just pray to this unknown god. Then I met a fellow traveler who sounded sure of His Loving God. Eventually, this unknown god revealed Himself to me.

22 So Paul, standing in the midst of the Areopagus, said: “Men of Athens, I perceive that in every way you are very religious. 23 For as I passed along and observed the objects of your worship, I found also an altar with this inscription, p‘To the unknown god.’ pWhat therefore you worship qas unknown, this I proclaim to you. 24 rThe God who made the world and everything in it, being sLord of heaven and earth, tdoes not live in temples made by man,3 25 nor is he served by human hands, uas though he needed anything, since he himself vgives to all mankind wlife and breath and everything. 26 And xhe made from one man every nation of mankind to live yon all the face of the earth, zhaving determined allotted periods and athe boundaries of their dwelling place, 27 bthat they should seek God, cand perhaps feel their way toward him and find him. dYet he is actually not far from each one of us, 28 for
e“‘In him we live and move and have our being’;4
as even some of fyour own poets have said,
“‘For we are indeed his offspring.’5 Acts 17:22-28

Then I discovered that Jesus is God! Or I should say He revealed Himself to me. And that He died for me because of His Love for me. I did not do anything to deserve it and I couldn’t do anything to earn it. I was disarmed by this Great Love. In Romans 5 it talks about God’s love being poured into our hearts and what is poured in must be poured out.

“Not only that, but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.”
Romans 5:3-5

If you have read this post, my prayer for you is to be in Awe of God’s Love for you. That He would WOW you in a way that will cause you to cry out with joy and gratitude.
Unarmed, Catherine

Published by: Catherine Mullaney

First and foremost, I am a child of the Living God who is found as One God in Three persons, The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit. I have been married to the same man for over 25 years, together we have three adult children. I love my family and God’s and I know that both are trying to love me. Over my lifetime, I hope that I have also been a good friend, faithful citizen of the Kingdom, thoughtful, kind, open, and that I will continue to do so by God’s grace. If you were to look at my weekly calendar, you might describe my life as diverse so no one can stick me in the Christian box or the recovery box or any box for that matter. People don’t belong in boxes anyway. I am grateful to be human. I enjoy living in New England. I love a great game of golf, catching a sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean, a good book, to write with pen and paper, fruitful conversations, to sing and dance, to walk. One of my signatures in this life is my laugh and I love to “sign.”

Categories The Power of Love, UncategorizedTags, , , , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

