“You’re Suspect”

Today we had people over and someone mentioned that we as New Englanders tend to be a little bit suspicious of things. I guess you could say that we don’t do change well. We may be thinking to ourselves, “What’s his angle?” Or as Ben Affleck posing as Matt Damon’s character in Good Will Hunting in the clip above, we might say, “you’re suspect.” It can be hard to get past that and learn to trust again.

When people come into our home and enter with love and intentionally extend the hand of friendship, we try our best to warmly embrace these dear ones and we need to remember that we are all flawed but equally loved by Our Heavenly Father. When we are able to get a glimpse of the truth that we are indeed called to love God and our fellow man, and realize that the two are connected then we will more readily accept the gifts in the midst of the mess. Life is messy regardless.

This blog is a work in progress. I decided to get it going even though it is “under construction” but aren’t we all? The beauty of humanity is that we are continually being hammered and chiseled. God is making something beautiful out of our lives. So, I am adding a link here and writing some content there but I imagine that there will always be changes. Right now, I am looking at the url http://www.foundinthetruth.wordpress.com and the title of this blog, Disarmed by Love and just so amazed that these two phrase describe my heart’s desire, to be found in the Truth and to be disarmed by Love. The Truth and Love are both in the nature of Jesus Christ. In the gospel of John the themes of Truth and Love are manifested in the Life of Jesus Christ showing us that He has lived the perfect life for us. It amazes me that at this stage of my life, I am still finding my way in living out the New Life that has been given to me. Think it was meant to last for a lifetime? The longer I’m on this road the more I am beginning to realize that to know where my identity comes from enables me to walk the road with others. We were never meant to walk it alone.

The truth is I was carried by the love and care of others for over a year. Reminding me of the Gospel, loving me by continually speaking the truth and reaching out to me with compassion. Faithful friends, brothers and sisters praying with me and for me and comforting me.

There is still that hesitation and curiosity that makes me say, “you’re suspect” or more honestly saying to these new folks walking into our lives, “I think what you are describing is too good to be true.” We need to remember that these dear people are taking a chance on us.

Who is stepping out on a limb for you today?

Published by: Catherine Mullaney

First and foremost, I am a child of the Living God who is found as One God in Three persons, The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit. I have been married to the same man for over 25 years, together we have three adult children. I love my family and God’s and I know that both are trying to love me. Over my lifetime, I hope that I have also been a good friend, faithful citizen of the Kingdom, thoughtful, kind, open, and that I will continue to do so by God’s grace. If you were to look at my weekly calendar, you might describe my life as diverse so no one can stick me in the Christian box or the recovery box or any box for that matter. People don’t belong in boxes anyway. I am grateful to be human. I enjoy living in New England. I love a great game of golf, catching a sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean, a good book, to write with pen and paper, fruitful conversations, to sing and dance, to walk. One of my signatures in this life is my laugh and I love to “sign.”

Categories UncategorizedTags, , , , 1 Comment

One thought on ““You’re Suspect””

Leave a Reply

