Disarmed by Love

Have you ever been disarmed by Love? Have you had to fight for it? What I mean is, did you not really experience love early in life but you knew that you wanted it and so you felt like you had to fight for it in order to get it? Love doesn’t work like that. It is not something you work for or buy or trade or sell. It is not something taken by force because it is a Force. A force like no other.

It was not until my eyes were opened and Love broke through and in an instant I found myself disarmed without a defense. It was the Love of the LORD Jesus Christ. I was 21 years old and God used the man who would become my husband to show me the love of our Lord.

It would be hard to say that any human being practices perfect unconditional love. Absolute unconditional Love is the person of Jesus Christ, who walked this earth in perfect Love, exercising mercy, care and healing to those who were marginalized. He lifted up women and respected them as human beings equal to men. He left His Home and came and dwelled among the people.

The Pilgrim journey of faith that is leading me to my eternal home has been an adventure. With all the bends and curves that have been in store much has happened along the way. Love has never faltered even in the darkness.

About 4 months ago or so, it was time to quit traveling the road alone. I thought maybe I am just going to have to travel alone for the rest of my days and I was determined that if that is the way it has to be, than so be it. Perhaps, I can just stay on the edges of humanity and brush up again it. Perhaps just get a sense of the Love but never let it touch my heart again.

Then it happened again (as it has many times over my lifetime) through a new friend of mine, who invited me into her life. One of God’s children who reached out to me with the hand of friendship and it was done with such care. Again, I found myself being disarmed. Not long after that Dan and I met with a man who simply said, tell me about your story. A statement that says, I want to know you. So I ask myself the question, did I again become open to love or did love break through?

The point is that Love broke through and reached me in spite of myself. Being open to love means that you also open yourself up to pain. There will be heartache. CS Lewis says in his book The Four Loves,

“To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable. To love is to be vulnerable.”

Now that I have been disarmed again by the Great Love with which Christ loved us, I want to continue to walk in this Love. Truth comes so easily to me, but when it comes to love, I still have so much to learn, not head knowledge but heart knowledge and living it out is a challenge that I can not meet in my own strength, I need His Never-ending Love and the love between me and my brothers and sisters walking along this road called life.

Please let us know how you have been disarmed by love.

Published by: Catherine Mullaney

First and foremost, I am a child of the Living God who is found as One God in Three persons, The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit. I have been married to the same man for over 25 years, together we have three adult children. I love my family and God’s and I know that both are trying to love me. Over my lifetime, I hope that I have also been a good friend, faithful citizen of the Kingdom, thoughtful, kind, open, and that I will continue to do so by God’s grace. If you were to look at my weekly calendar, you might describe my life as diverse so no one can stick me in the Christian box or the recovery box or any box for that matter. People don’t belong in boxes anyway. I am grateful to be human. I enjoy living in New England. I love a great game of golf, catching a sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean, a good book, to write with pen and paper, fruitful conversations, to sing and dance, to walk. One of my signatures in this life is my laugh and I love to “sign.”

Categories Uncategorized3 Comments

3 thoughts on “Disarmed by Love”

  1. Thanks for the post Caitriona. The Lord disarms me all the time. It is a good saying- to be disarmed by love. That IS what He does to us. Whenever I am feeling the energy going towards agitation, I ask the Lord to direct my thinking and He usually guides me to Love. Not only has He disarmed me and enabled me to let His love change me, but has also given me that kind of love for others. We also can disarm others with love. I pray I can learn how to better do that.
    I love you- my sister my bride!

  2. Thanks Dan. More times than not it is our brothers and sisters in Christ that have disarmed me with the Love of the LORD. Thanks for loving me into the Kingdom 28 years ago. It changed the course of my life.

Leave a Reply

